
Q&A - What if the 
maintenance crew puts the 
markers aside to mow and 
forget to move them back? 

If you can, call the Pro Shop 
to let them know and they 
can send maintenance out to 
put the markers where they 
should be in the rotation. 
Because you can't really wait 
for this to happen, set up 
using the yardage plate in on 
the tee box.  This yardage 
plate corresponds to the hole 
yardage on the score card. 
You can use the width of the 
tee box and go back 2 driver 
club lengths from the yardage 
plate.

Sometimes the tee markers 
are much further back 
because there was a 
tournament with “Hole in 
One” competitions that 
require a minimum distance.  
If you are the first group out 
and you think this has 
happened, call the Pro Shop 
and they can advise.  But 
there really is no problem 
with just leaving the longer 
markers and seeing if you 
could have won the 
competition. Of course,  if 
you are playing in a League 
that day, everyone else would 
have to do the same. 

Do 2 Wrongs Make a Right? 

Because of the rain on August, 4 , our Tuesday League game was cancelled.  
Once the sun came out I played Mt. View with a foursome. It looked like we were 
the first group out and many of the tee markers on the tee boxes were moved 
further back than usual. Tee marker rotation is just a part of the golf course 
maintenance to let the teeing grounds recover from traffic and give divots time 
to heal.

When we got to hole 11,  the markers were about 4-5 yards further back from the 
gold yardage plate. One of the players picked up the tee box marker and started 
moving it forward to where she thought it should be. A second golfer was 
agreeing with her because it  was Tuesday and many of the players have 
difficulty reaching the green. The Golf Rules Maven told her she wasn't allowed 
to do that. It is considered changing the course conditions which would be at the 
minimum 2 stroke penalty and probably disqualification in a tournament. She 
said, "Ron (our Golf Pro)  told me I could move them closer on Tuesdays" So is 
there a penalty?

• No one can change the Rules of Golf except the USGA and R&A. If Ron had 
told here she could move the tee markers when she thought they were too 
far back to on Tuesday, Ron would be changing the Rules of Golf which he is 
not authorized to do. 

• Although the player was doing it because "Ron said she could", she would 
still get a penalty if she played her shot after moving the markers,  because 
the Player (not Ron) is responsible for knowing the Rules of Golf when they 
play.  Thus, 2 wRONgs don’t make a right. 
– This is true even if The Golf Rules Maven is playing with you and makes an 

error in advising you what to do. If there are 2 different perspectives on 
what you should do, you can always play the second ball under the other 
perspective and ask for a ruling from the Pro at the end of your round on 
which score should be used. 

• The player can avoid the penalty, if before they hit, they restore the "original 
object as nearly as possible to its original position so that the 
improvement created by the breach is eliminated".
– This also applies if you move OB stakes in error, but move them back 

before you hit. 
– Another example where this applies would be if your ball is under low 

hanging branches and you decide to weave them together to get them out 
of your way. If you are  told you can’t do that and then unweave the 
branches before you hit, you then avoid the penalty. 

– If you can’t restore the object to its original position, then you incur the 
penalty which is at the minimum 2 strokes in Stroke Play or loss of hole in 
Match Play.  As an example, if as you were weaving the branches in the 
example above, some broke off, you would be unable to restore the object 
to it original position, so you would be assessed the penalty. 

In the end, the Player moved the tee markers back before she hit and avoided 
the penalty. 

Remember, it’s between the tee 
markers, not on top of them
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