
MATCH PLAY CONCESSIONS AND OTHER KEY DIFFERENCES 

VERSUS STROKE PLAY 
 

Issue XVII on Match Play covered how to apply handicap strokes and how to keep score during 
a match. This issue of The Golf Rules Review (TGRR) covers four areas where the rules are quite 
different for Match Play versus Stroke Play. These areas are concession, order of play, 
protecting the field, and information as to strokes taken. The next issue of TGRR will cover how 
penalties for a breach of the rules differ in Stroke Play versus Match Play.  
  
Concessions  

Match Play has concessions which is a word to describe “It’s yours, let’s move on” when it is 
obvious to the player that their opponents is going to make a putt, or win the hole or even 
the match.  The player may concede their opponents next stroke, or the hole or the entire 
match. Concessions are given before the stroke is made, not retroactively.  When a 
concession is given, play on the hole or match has ended.  

 Once the concession is made by a player, it cannot be withdrawn. Concessions are given, 
but sadly not requested.  
⁻ Even if it looks like the player who made the concession is continuing to play the 

hole that will not negate the concession.  
⁻ After a concession is made, players cannot agree to cancel a concession, because 

they found out new information. Done is done. If they agree to cancel a concession 
both players are disqualified for agreeing not to follow the rules of golf.  

 Concessions can be done verbally or by an action that clearly shows the player’s intent 
to concede a hole. For example, you could concede a stroke by deliberately stopping an 
opponent’s ball from going in the hole.  

 Only the player or their teammate may make a concessions, not their caddies.  

 Putt concessions happen all the time in Match Play. When given, the receiving player’s 
ball is considered holed and the hole is over. “Pick it up” or “It’s good” are often used to 
concede a putt, but you could also deliberately stop their ball going in the hole. 
⁻ “It’s good” can also be misinterpreted. For example if a player has a long putt and 

lags it close to the hole, the opponent may say “good” referring to the putt, not 
necessarily conceding the next putt.  

⁻ If a player lifts their ball because of a reasonable misunderstanding that the 
opponent was conceding the stroke or the hole, the player can replace their ball 
without penalty.  

 Conceding the next stroke can happen provided your opponent’s ball is at rest. When 
conceding at this point, the ball is considered to have been holed out.  
⁻ Picking up your Opponent’s ball in the mistaken belief you have won the hole is not 

considered a concession.  
 If you did and said “my hole” and your opponent pointed out you were wrong, 

you must replace your opponent’s ball and take a 1 stroke penalty for 
purposely touching your opponent’s ball.  

 If you did it based on the wrong information from your opponent on the 
status of the hole, then you win the hole because they gave you wrong 
information (see below). 

 Hole concessions are less frequent. A hole concession is the same as “waving a white 
flag” or saying “Uncle”.  
⁻ For example, if on hole #9 your opponent made it over the water in one, and you’re 

still struggling after 3 tries, you should concede the hole. 
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Schools of Thoughts 

on Conceding Putts 

1. Never concede a putt. 

The theory here is that 

every putt can be missed 

so none are conceded. 

Of course for players in 

this school of thought, 

their opponent catches 

on quickly and also 

never concedes a putt.  

2. Concede every short 

putt. This player will 

always concedes putts of 

a certain distance (6 

inches, a foot, it varies 

by player). Does it to 

speed up play and is 

probably an experienced 

player.  

3. Concede putts early but 

not late. – This theory is 

to deny your opponent 

the opportunity to get 

comfortable over the 

short putts. Making 

them putt those short 

ones later in the match 

when the pressure is 

high might make them  

prone to miss.  

Or the Gary McCord school 

of thought on conceding 

putts. “Ask yourself 

whether you’d fancy hitting 

the same putt. If the 

answer is “no” or even “not 

really” say nothing and 

watch.” 

 

 



 

 

 

⁻ Hole concessions may happen any time prior to the start of the hole, or prior to the 
conclusion of the hole.  

 If you have already won or lost a hole before you gave or received a concession, the 
concession doesn’t count.  
⁻ This could occur if you are not aware of the all the strokes your opponent may 

have. For example, you’re on the green in 5 and your opponent in 2, but their 
second shot was from the rough, so you concede the hole. You then find out your 
opponent played the wrong ball from the rough. This is a loss of hole penalty, so 
your opponent already lost the hole before reaching the green.  

 Match concessions are rare. They may happen because of an injury or illness of a player 
during the match. However, just giving up because you think you may not make up the 
holes you have lost is considered bad form. 

 

Order of Play 
In Stroke Play you may play out of order on a hole without any penalty. In fact this is 
encouraged to speed up play.  In Match Play, playing “Honors” i.e. who hits first, is 
fundamental to the game. It is fundamental because knowing what your opponent has 
done determines your strategy for playing your next shot. Players may agree to not play 
honors to speed up the game, but it is to their detriment to do so. Here is how to play 
honors:  

 On the first tee, honors shall be determined by a flip of a coin or a tee. After that the 
player who won the previous hole shall have the honor.  In case of a tie, honors remain 
with the player who previously held the honor. 

 During play on a hole, the player furthest away from the hole plays first. In Stroke Play 

players often wait for everyone to get on the green before putting. In Match Play, if a 

player is off the green but closer to the hole than their opponent on the green, the 

player on the green would hit first.  

 If a player needs to play a provisional ball from the Tee, they must wait until their 

opponent has hit their tee shot.  

 Players are not playing out if turn, if when they hit their shot, they were unaware their 

opponent’s ball was lost and would have to go back re-play their shot. In this case, the 

player based their decision on the relative position of the original shots.  

 When both player’s balls go into a penalty area, (e.g water or environmental area) the 

relative position is unknown, then flip a coin to determine who plays next.  

Penalty for Playing Out of Turn - The opponent may let it stand or require the player to 

cancel the stroke and play in the correct order. If you hit a good shot out of turn, chances 

are your opponent will have you cancel and replay the shot. If in doubt as to who is away, 

get confirmation from your opponent.  
 

Playing from the Wrong Tee 
If a player plays from the wrong tee or outside the teeing ground, the opponent may let it 

stand or require the player to cancel the stroke and play from the correct tee. There are no 

penalty strokes for this.  

 

Forget Protecting the Field, Its “Mano a Mano” in Match Play 

Unlike Stroke Play, the concept of Protecting the Field (see Issue VIII Back to the Basics) 

does not apply. You are not obligated to let your Opponent know if they unknowingly 

broke a rule. Players in a match are going head to head so it is in their own interest to call 

penalties on their opponents.  

  

Match Play Strategy 

   If you look this up on the 
internet you may see 
articles on how to dominate 
your opponent. Often they 
provide mind games you 
can play such as “ignore 
your Opponent”, how to 
“psych out your opponent. 
Generally in the WWGA, we 
leave trash talk and minds 
games to the Pros. The 
people we play with are our 
friends and neighbors. Win 
or lose why let them go 
away upset because you 
tried to psyched them out.   
   So here are some Match 
Play strategies that will help 
you without annoying your 
opponent.  

1. Remember, anyone can 
be beaten in Match Play.  

2. When in doubt, go with 
your safe shot. If you are 
more comfortable 
playing alongside the 
water on SL hole #9, do 
it. Let your opponent 
take the risk over water. 

3. If you are leading, don’t 
get ahead of yourself. 
Play one hole at a time, 
so your opponent feels 
like they have to play 
their best to beat you.  

4. Don’t let your 
opponent’s lead or good 
shot rattle you. Anything 
can happen in match 
play.  

5. Expect your opponent to 
make everything. So 
keep grinding and stay 
focused.  

6. Having a bad hole…take 
a slow deep breath and 
shake your arms before 
your next shot. Relax! 

7. Be gracious at the end of 
the match, you each 
tried your best. 



 

 

 If you are playing with someone who is always unknowingly grounding their club in the 

bunker, you can ignore it. You are only hurting yourself, not the entire field as in 

Stroke Play.   

⁻ If you observe a rules breach and want to call it on your opponent, do it as soon as 

it occurs. The very latest you may call a breach on your opponent is before the 

next hole starts.  

For example, you are having a bad hole. You are in the bunker and hit, but the ball 

doesn’t get out. In a fit of annoyance you reverse swing and accidently swipe the 

sand.  Your opponent sees this says nothing. You don’t call the penalty on yourself 

because you are too focused on your bad swing. Miraculously you win the hole 

and 2 holes later your opponent says, when you were in the bunker and swiped at 

the sand, isn’t that a penalty.  You think back as say, “hmmmm, I forgot I did that, I 

think you’re right”. Unfortunately for your opponent, even though that penalty 

would have been loss of the hole, the fact that they did not raise it before the 

start of the next hole, means the results of that earlier hole stands.  

 Once the rules breach is pointed out to the Opponent, any breaches thereafter cannot 

be ignored and would result in loss of the hole for the Opponent.  

 As a player you still cannot knowingly break rules in hopes that your Opponent will not 

notice. Golf is a game of honor and you still must call penalties on yourself and tell you 

opponent when you do. 

Likewise you and your partner cannot knowingly agree to disregard a rule you know. 

Examples are: 

 At the start of the match you agree to give each other putts “inside the leather”. 

 You get to hole #9, you both look at the water and decide to skip the hole and call it a 

tie. However, if you both start the hole and each put balls in the water and may know 

that neither will get over, you could stop the nonsense by agreeing the hole is tied and 

move on to the next hole. You just can’t call it a tie without even starting, one of you 

has to start.   

Penalty for Agreeing to Disregard a Rule - Disqualification 
 

Information as to Strokes Taken  
In Stroke Play if you give the wrong information to your opponent as to how many strokes 

you have taken while you are still playing the hole, there is no penalty. In Match Play, 

opponents are entitled to ask you how many strokes you have taken.  Opponents rely on 

this information to decide their strategy for playing the hole. 

 When asked, you must accurately tell your opponent the number of strokes including 
penalties before they hit their next shot. If you have finished the hole you must tell 
them before they tee off on the next hole. If you ignore their request or refuse to give 
your opponent the information, you lose the hole. 

 Likewise, if you incur a penalty, your opponent may not be aware of, you must tell 
them as soon as reasonable possible. For example, your opponent may not see you 
accidently moved you ball when removing loose impediments (1 stroke penalty) or 
when you accidently grounded your club in the bunker (which is loss of the hole). You 
are still obligated to tell your opponent before they make a stroke or takes action such 
as conceding a stroke to you since such concession was done without vital information 
i.e. your penalty stroke.  

 There is no penalty for failing to tell your Opponent about a penalty if they knew that 
you had a penalty. For example, taking relief from a penalty hazard or out of bounds.  

Penalty for Giving the Wrong Information – Loss of hole.  

Combining Match 

Play with a Stroke 

Play event  

The USGA and R&A 

discourages combining the 

2 formats into one event 

because the rules are not 

compatible. For example: 

 Concessions are not 

allowed in stroke play 

but are allowed in match 

play. You don’t have to 

finish a hole to win a 

match, but you do in 

stroke play.  

 Honors are not required 

in stroke play, but in 

match play, you could 

have a player re-play 

their shot for not playing 

honors.  

 Ignoring a rules breach 

by your opponent is 

allowed in match play, 

whereas in stroke play 

you must call it on a 

player to protect the 

field.  

 If the 2 formats are 

combined into one event 

then the USGA states the 

rules for stroke play should 

be applied throughout the 

event. So, no concessions, 

no recalling a stroke for 

playing out of order and no 

ignoring a rules breach. 

 

 


